RSS

A Hummingbird Morning

19 Sep

Taking in the Nectar

Gazing out my window this morning, I noticed one of my hummingbirds busily gathering nectar from what was left of the remaining four-o-clock flowers as fall rain drenched his feathers.  Flying busily from flower to flower, plant to plant, I knew he was gathering for the long winter migration south until the warmth of spring returns.  It seemed to be content with what was the remaining life of the now fading blooms.  He appeared thankful that God had provided him with just what he needed, no more and no less.  I did not doubt in my mind that he would make it there and home again on his long flight. 

I began to contemplate my own life.  How long was it going to be?  Am preparing as this little winged friend was in my own life to prepare me for the next season in my life – God’s Kingdom?  Am I satisfied with the life God has given me to prepare, or do I fuss and kick up a storm when all the flowers are blossoming and I have to go look elsewhere –especially in the rain!?

At this time, my body is fighting a chest cold/flu, leaving me in a weakened condition.  It seems that as you age, when you’re at your weakest, you begin to ask yourself the questions:  How long is my life going to last here on the earth?  Did I do what the Lord required of me?  Am I satisfied, as the hummingbird was to taste the last drops of nectar, preparing for a future flight – that for eternity, even though the flowers aren’t perfect?  

God asked His followers to be content with what He provides, because He knows what we need.

Hebrews 13:5 Let your conduct be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

God tells us to ponder His creation.  When we ask those questions, He hears and answers us with His word:

Luke 12:27 Consider the lilies how they grow: they toil not, they spin not; and yet I say unto you, that Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.

Lu 12:28 If then God so clothe the grass, which is to day in the field, and to morrow is cast into the oven; how much more will he clothe you, O ye of little faith?

God provides what we need, physically and spiritually if we obey from the heart what He requires of us, even though imperfect.  What we lack, He will provide for. 

He encourages us not to worry.  He will provide the spiritual nourishment and growth we need if we live our lives for Him.  This will enable us to drink from the nectar of God (God’s Word ~ guidance from the Holy Spirit) until we meet with Him face to face.  Won’t that be a glorious day!!?

1Thessalonians 5:1-23

Pray without ceasing.

In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.

Quench not the Spirit.

Despise not prophesying.

Prove all things; hold fast that which is good.

Abstain from all appearance of evil.

And the very God of peace sanctify you wholly; and I pray God your whole spirit and soul and body be preserved blameless unto the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Smile!  God is providing!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “A Hummingbird Morning

  1. KARS

    September 23, 2011 at 2:36 am

    thanks for sharing your thoughts for the day. I know God our Father and His Son provide for us every moment of the day. Whether it be protection, forgiveness, mercy, and love when we need it.
    He has blessed me with so much and yet spiritually for me all this physical stuff around me is becoming more and more meaningless. I just don’t feel alive here where I am and I don’t enjoy living like a hermit. I am the type of persons that wants to help others and somehow I hope I am while I am here. For even the little things can help alot.

     
    • edenhomeandgarden

      October 7, 2011 at 2:36 am

      Kathy,

      You don’t have to live like a hermit, but I know the feeling. It is being alone in a crowd. Does that make any sense? I used to feel that way, but I have sought out a different family, the family of God who walks with us everyday if we just reach out our hand to Him in prayer. Slowly but surely we can learn to trust Him, trust him with our feelings. But we have to take the chance. Chances are very frightening when it comes to people. Is that the reason you feel like a hermit? Sometimes times when we reach out, we are slapped in the face mentally. After awhile, we no longer want to try. Is that where you are? I fso, try writing your “feelings” to God on a piece of paper and place them in a God box – an empty shoe box or oatmeal box. I couldn’t even pray with my “feelings” at first. I had to write them down. I was too afraid. That’s why I started writing Psalms of a Woman because there was not that connection. Fear took the place of trust, but now God helps me to have peace. Please see next post. I’ll try to write a piece of poetry that maybe you can relate to. There’s always hope Kathy. Hang in there.

       

Leave a Reply

 
