RSS

Psalms Of A Woman

28 Mar

 

Prodigal No More

A mighty fortress is our God

A place of refuge, place of peace

He takes the downcast, laden down

Invites them to His feast

 

Come all of your who labor

With sin you daily bear

Come partake of mercies great

Which willingly I share

 

Come to feast in linen white

I’ve waited long to clothe you

To share with you, to comfort you

My arms have longed to hold you

 

I see you coming down the road

Your eyes cast to the ground

Your clothes are torn and worn with time

No hope in you is found

 

My heart pours out like rivers swift

To run to take you in

To bind your wounds with tender care

To cover all your sin

 

Why do you listen to the one

That I have cast on down?

He wishes only death for you

To take away your crown

 

He whispers thoughts that you aren’t Mine

That I have you forsaken

That I have love conditional

So that you might be shaken

 

No, my child, don’t listen to

The way He pictures me

To see you walking towards My throne

Means everything to Me

 

We’ll feast a feast you’ll not forget

I’ll grant your soul with peace

Come sit with Me and talk to Me

Your burdens I’ll release

 

And in the light, we two shall be

Together, yes, eternally

No more a prodigal in chains

But one who now can with Me reign!

 

~ Diane Stewart 1994

 

Luke 15:11-32

Rev 20:6

Rev 3:21

 

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Psalms Of A Woman

  1. Anna

    March 30, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    Thank you for sharing this poem, Mom. 🙂

    (Love the new blog look, too!)

     

Leave a Reply

 
