RSS

A Higher Power That Hears

08 Feb
 
When you get angry, does God want to hear you? How about when you’re frustrated? Will He hear you when you are struggling with your addictions?  How about when you hate yourself and are feeling unworthy of His love?  Have you felt He didn’t have time for someone like you?
 

I’ve been there and felt those varied emotions.  I wanted to feel part of God’s family, but didn’t feel a one-on-one relationship even when I tried.  When I prayed, I kept all my emotions inside.  I learned to keep my emotions in an imaginary box, locked up, protecting myself from being bruised by others, not to be judged or condemned for my weaknesses, especially God!

He has shown by his death on the cross His great love for us. 

 John 3:16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

The Bible gives us a glimpse of how very precious and loved we are. It is His great desire for us to be in His family, and He is dedicated to getting us there.  He longs for a one-on-one relationship with you.  Please see – Why were you born?

I John 3:1 See how great a love the Father has bestowed upon us, that we should be called children of God; and such we are. For this reason the world does not know us, because it did not know Him.

He is not far from us.

Proverbs 8:17 I love those who love me; And those who diligently seek me will find me.

Are you diligently looking for an answer to your pain and situations that are ruling your life?

He is gentle and tender towards those who seek Him who are bruised from life’s troubles and hardships. He is very aware of your pain and wants to lift you up and hold you in the palm of His hand.

Isa 42:3 (RSV) a bruised reed He will not break, and a dimly burning wick he will not quench; He will faithfully bring forth justice.

A bruised reed can be likened to a heart that has been crushed by life’s blows, trodden down from the weight of trials.

He will not break the bruised reed, but will strengthen it, that it may become a cedar in the courts of our God. He will not quench the smoking flax, but blow it up into a flame. Note, Jesus Christ is very tender toward those that have true grace, though they are but weak in it, and accepts the willingness of the spirit, pardoning and passing by the weakness of the flesh. 1

…he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted
see Isaiah 61:1

He will keep you from the oppressor, those who would destroy you (addictions) if you look to this Higher Power!

Psalms 72:4 He will defend the afflicted among the people and save the children of the needy; he will crush the oppressor.

In the Psalms, David shows in many scriptures how God hears the cries of those in need.

Ps 55:16  As for me, I will call upon God; and the LORD shall save me.

 Ps 86:16 O turn unto me, and have mercy upon me; give thy strength unto thy servant, and save the son of thine handmaid.

 Ps 109:26 Help me, O LORD my God: O save me according to thy mercy:

 Ps 138:7 Though I walk in the midst of trouble, thou wilt revive me: thou shalt stretch forth thine hand against the wrath of mine enemies, and thy right hand shall save me.

 Ps 57:3 He shall send from heaven, and save me from the reproach of him that would swallow me up. Selah. God shall send forth his mercy and his truth.

Do your addictions sometimes feel like you are being “swallowed up?”  Reading Psalms can greatly help you to understand God’s desire to hear your prayers of need. David certainly was a man who had experienced great trials.  Try substituting the word “enemy” with “your addiction” or trial while reading the Psalms.

Ps 138:7 Though I walk in the midst of trouble, thou wilt revive me: thou shalt stretch forth your hand against the wrath of mine enemies, and thy right hand shall save me.

Jer 17:14 Heal me, O LORD, and I shall be healed; save me, and I shall be saved: for thou art my praise.

Is there hope for a relationship with God, those who desire to start anew with a spiritual Father and brother? Yes! Are you sure God will help me?  Yes!

Romans 8:37-39 But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord

I came not to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.
Luke 5:32.

FOR TODAY:  When we feel God will not hear us, let’s remember that God’s mercy is boundless.  He will hear the cries of those who turn to Him and give us the help we desperately need.  God, our Higher Power, is just that, a Higher Power, able to sustain a universe, yet gentle enough to hide us underneath his wings when we are in trouble.

 

 Ps 17:8 Keep me as the apple of the eye, hide me under the shadow of thy wings.

1 Matthew Henry, “Matthew Henry Complete Commentary on the Bible,” Complete Commentary on Isaiah.

 United Church of God ~ An International Association

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

 
